Awards Evening and AGM - October 2016

Braintree & Witham Times - October 2016

Eddie Hawkins - Press Officer Braintree Bowling Club

Braintree Bowls Club’s Awards Evening and AGM evening was well attended with over 80 members and friends present.

Martin Spencer Hunnable

This season, the men's section was dominated by the exemplary performance of Martin Spencer.  Martin not only won 4 individual trophies, but was ably supported by Keith Rixon in the Random pairs, to bring Martin's grand total of internal trophies to 5.

Graham EasterbrookMartin Spencer had joined the club this year with fellow club member Graham Easterbrook, after both had earlier success with Dunmow Bowling Club.  Together, both players proved their prowess within the County and Regional League competitions, being new members of the club's successful finalists at this level of the game.

Graham Easterbrook also maintained his good form in the Essex County Two Woods, being just eased out of the Final in a tightly fought Semi-Final game.  

The major trophy for the club came in the Essex County Double Fours where players, Chris Long, Malcolm Stark, Brian Taplin, Martin Spencer, Rob Doleman, David Lee, Dave Hunt, Josh Heffernan and Graham Easterbrook, brought home one of the oldest County Bowling trophies, winning it for the first time in the Club's history.

NWE Triples

In the North West Essex Bowling Association Triples, Braintree had a winning team comprising of: Martin Spencer, Chris Long and Graham Easterbrook.  In the Pairs, Graham Easterbrook and Martin Spencer took Runners Up spot, playing alongside one another.

In the North West Essex Bowling Association League, the Braintree 'B' team won their B League, thus earning them promotion to the higher echelons of this prestigious league.

Gill Costin

 Ronnie Taylor

In the Ladies section, Gill Costin proved to be the foremost player, closely followed by Roni Taylor and Olive Hawkins.  Between the three of them, they won seven trophies. 


Gill took the honours by winning the Senior Ladies with Roni Taylor taking the runner-up spot, Gill won the Dyson Cup (Ladies Championship) against Olive Hawkins.   

Paul and Gill Costin

Ronnie Taylor and Graham Easterbrook Copy


Gill continued her success with her husband Paul in the Loving Cup, where they took the winning spot against Roni Taylor and her partner Graham Easterbrook.



Olive Hawkins

Olive Hawkins added two other trophies to her collection by taking the Ladies Monday Roll -Up award and the runner-up prize in the Self Select Pairs with her partner Dave Hunt.

Sandra Mayne

It should also be mentioned that Sandra Mayne, in her first year of individual competition, won the Ladies McCormick Cup, which is only for novice players, in a closely fought match against Christine Beatty.  


Other personal achievements gained over the Summer season were as follows:

Aiden Neal gained his Eastern Counties Under 30s Call Up

Martin Law was given his Eastern Counties Flash

Olive and Eddie Hawkins were awarded their North West Essex Badge for representing the NWEBA in at least 5 matches. 

There was also success Indoors, when the Club were Runners- Up in the PDQ Trophy which is for Outdoor Clubs playing against one another in an Indoor environment.  This covers quite a number of clubs in the whole of Essex and is noted as one of the major trophies for Outdoor Bowling Clubs.

Greenkeepers 2016These successes are the 'Shop Window' of the Club, bringing about the recognition of players and teams to the community, but as it was pointed out by many of the club officials who spoke of the club's achievements, we should not forget the work that goes on behind the scenes by club officials themselves and more so by the green keepers.

The green keepers have the thankless job of bringing the greens up to spec., so that County games  and internal games are played on the very best possible playing surface. This they have achieved, under the guidance of Green Ranger, Ken Chine, a loyal member of the club for over 20 years, who is being honoured by the County Bowling Association for his loyalty to the club with a trophy in recognition for all his hard work.  On behalf of Ken’s green keeping crew - Rob Jones, Jan Kodz, Keith Hunter, Peter Caraway, Brian Todd, Ernie Sutton, Henry Edwards, Tony Heales and Rob Doleman and the rest of the club members, we all echo the words of everyone who sung Ken's praises.

BACK ROW (left to right) - Rob Jones Jan Kodz, Ken Chine, Keith Hunter, Peter Caraway.

FRONT ROW (left to right) - Brian Todd, Ernie Sutton, Henry Edwards, Tony Heales, Rob Doleman

Ian NorgettAndy Beatty


The evening ended with the Treasurer, Ian Norgett and Chairperson Andy Beatty confirming the club were in a healthy financial position.  They thanked everyone for their support throughout the season and encouraged further support over the next twelve months.  



Competition Winners 2016
Award Winners Runners Up
Avian League Swifts Owls
Daniel Robinson & Sons (Self Select Pairs)

Malcolm Stark

Vic Cole

Olive Hawkins

Dave Hunt

Dyson Cup (Ladies Championship) Gill Costin Olive Hawkins
Fixed Jack Richard Dodd Martin Law
Hunnable Cup (Gents Trophy) Martin Spencer Graham Easterbrook
Keith Hunt Open Handicap Martin Spencer Josh Heffernan
Loving Cup

Ronnie Taylor

Graham Easterbrook

Gill Costin

Paul Costin

Mathers Cup Martin Spencer Ian Norgett
McCormick Cup (Ladies Novices) Sandra Mayne Christine Beatty
Monday Roll-Up (Gents) Tony Heales
Monday Roll-Up (Ladies) Olive Hawkins
Nicholls/ Taylor Two Wood Martin Law Carl Cheetham
Novices Cup (Gents) Richard Dodd Barry Jowlett
Open Singles (Sets Play)
Random Pairs

Martin Spencer

Keith Rixon

Donna Law

Carl Cheetham

Senior Cup (Ladies 60+) Gill Costin Ronnie Taylor
Tribble Tripples

Barbara Taylor

Steve Gibson

Les Crowe

Dennis Taylor

Jan Kodz

Martin Law

Veterans Cup (Gents 60+) Martin Spencer Andy Beatty